Sense and Second-Degree Murder

Cover design by Corinna Lupp and art by Jess Phoenix and Filip Hodas

HarperTeen
April 5, 2022
ISBN: 978-0062889836

Buy:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Bookshop.org
Indiebound
Audible
Libro.fm

Buy a signed copy:
The Book Vine

Add it on Goodreads!

Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three-book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy and Stalking Jack the Ripper. In Sense and Second-Degree Murder, aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood and her sister Marianne, a budding detective, work together to solve the mystery of their father’s murder.

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery that points to foul play, and the killer might be family.

Obviously, the girls must investigate. It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

Praise for Sense and Second-Degree Murder

“Price’s second ‘Jane Austen Murder Mystery’ is just as clever as the first…A delightful reimagining of a classic that will be enjoyed by Jane Austen fans and mystery readers alike.” —School Library Journal

“This second installment in the Jane Austen Murder Mysteries is an
absolute treat—though the original plot, characters, and time period remain mostly intact, the
added elements of a classic murder mystery feel surprisingly organic, and Price’s affection for
the source material is obvious. There are still balls and gowns and longing looks, but there are
also lock picking and opium dens, bullet wounds and big reveals. A thrilling Regency romp worth
investigating.”
—Booklist

%d bloggers like this: